LCN 2013 Home Page

Welcome to LCN 2013

Keynote Presentations

Technical Program


LCN Contact and Committee Information

Conference Venue, Arrival, and Local Travel

Conference and Hotel Registration

Corporate Support of the LCN

 LCN Conference App

 LCN Twitter page

Call for Papers and Important Dates

Call for Demonstrations

Final Paper Instructions

No-Show Policy

Information for Speakers

Visa Information

Student Participation Grants

Prior LCN Conferences

LCN Awards

LCN Special Issue Publications

 LCN Communications

Join the IEEE Computer Society

LCN 2013

Welcome Message

Welcome to the IEEE Conference on Local Computer Networks, the conference on the leading edge of computer networking. Now in its 38th year, IEEE LCN is one of the oldest and continuously running conferences on computer networking. Back in Sydney after 8 years, we will continue with the stimulating and friendly interactive environment that LCN is known for, fostering interactions among researchers and practitioners, from academia and industry.

LCN will continue its tradition of offering a quality set of papers selected via a thorough review process with a very selective acceptance rate. Poster and demonstration sessions will provide a window into leading edge research and development activities around the globe. Nine workshops will be held on the first and last days of the conference. LCN is a truly international conference with authors coming from 40 countries. Both industry and academia are well represented. Topics of paper sessions include high-speed networking, high-performance protocols, local, metropolitan, and wide area networks, internetworking, network and protocol design, wireless networks, routing and switching, multimedia, networks, networking to/at home and office, security, object oriented communications, distributed systems, green networking, and real-time networks.

LCN 2013 will offer keynotes from two distinguished leaders in networking: Kevin Bloch, CTO of Cisco Australia and New Zealand, and Prof. Aruna Seneviratne of University of New South Wales and National ICT Australia (NICTA). Keynote speakers in past years include Fred Baker, Hari Balakrishnan, Raouf Boutaba, Ken Christensen, Dave Clark, Alan Crouch, Mark Crovella, Sajal Das, Chip Elliott, Kevin Fall, Denton Gentry, Dev Vrat Gupta, Geoff Huston, Bob Ianucci, Raj Jain, Stephen Kent, Edward Knightly, Alberto Leon-Garcia, Peter Martini, Peter Newman, Donal O'Mahony, Craig Partridge, Charles Perkins, Radia Perlman, Larry Roberts, Howard Salwen, Barbara van Schewick, Rich Seifert, David Skellern, Tim Wild, Stephen Wolff, and Guoliang Xue.

LCN is sponsored by the IEEE Computer Society and the IEEE Computer Society Technical Committee on Computer Communications (TCCC). Cisco Systems Inc., supports LCN 2013 at the Platinum level. Generous support also comes from Google, NICTA, University of New South Wales, and CSIRO.

We are looking forward to an exciting, vibrant assembly in Sydney.

Anura Jayasumana
General Chair, LCN 2013
Professor, Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Computer Science
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, CO 80523